Thoughts on a recent article about the “Mrs. Degree”

I first want to say I do not agree with most of this woman’s points/ideals, however, one thing she said stuck with me and I felt the need to comment. (quoting “Princeton Mom” Susan Patton)

However, feminism has taken a turn to the dark side. Feminists have become antagonistic. They’ve become bullying of women who aspire to traditional roles, women who want anything for themselves different from what the feminists, the very strident feminists’ doctrine, is directing them towards.

via Should Women Go to College for Mrs. Degree? ‘Princeton Mom’ Weig – ABC 8NEWS – WRIC | Richmond, Virginia News & Weather.

I agree with her on this point, as I’ve been on the other side of this antagonizing my whole life. Whenever someone asked what I wanted to do or wanted to be, my answer was always “wife and mother,” because that is the only thing I have ever wanted to do. And I’ve been looked down on for years for that answer. People were taken aback and gave me “that look” every time I told them my aspirations.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to be a housewife and mother. There is also nothing wrong with being a career woman. My point is, just because I didn’t ever want a “career” or strive to be big in business or science or anything else, that doesn’t make me any less smart. And I wish people would understand and respect that.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

